Providing Free Bird Scooter Rides to Teachers to Start the School Year

This year, millions of teachers and families are struggling to work through the academic challenges posed by COVID-19. The team at Bird wants to say thank you—and to help. 

That’s why we’re offering our Free Rides for Teachers program throughout the month of September. Now educators in participating cities throughout the US and Europe can experience a clean, traffic-free and socially distanced way to get around, whether they’re commuting to class or picking up supplies for online learning. 

“We’re all facing a ‘new normal’ this academic year, and at the center are the educators who’ve been given the enormous task of reimagining both online and in-classroom learning,” said Rebecca Hahn, Chief Corporate Social Responsibility Officer at Bird. “We want to do our part to help by providing all teachers with free personal mobility so they can focus on what matters most: their passion for education.”

The new program offers teachers up to two free 30-minute rides per day and is valid from September 1 through September 30, 2020. To sign up, simply email with your teacher ID or teaching credentials and we’ll get you enrolled asap. 

Bird’s Free Rides for Teachers program comes amid an ongoing coronavirus pandemic that has had a dramatic impact on urban mobility around the world. In April, Bird responded to the crisis by offering free scooter rides to medical and emergency personnel, and we’ve since unveiled new features including our industry-first Warm Up Mode to help more new riders feel comfortable trying electric scooters. 

To stay up to date with new micromobility information and initiatives happening every week, subscribe to the Bird Cities Blog. 

Participating US Cities include: Alexandria, Arlington, Montgomery County, Washington DC, Detroit, Cleveland, Fairfax, Cincinnati, Columbus, Kansas City, Indianapolis, Bloomington, Chicago, Omaha, Lincoln, St. Paul, Minneapolis, Richmond, Charlotte, Atlanta, Durham, Harrisonburg, Lynchburg, Yonkers, Austin, San Antonio, Tulsa, Phoenix, Tucson, Louisville, Memphis, Orlando, Tampa, Nashville, Los Angeles, Long Beach, Dallas, St. Louis, Columbia, Denver, Fort Collins, Salt Lake City, Boise, San Diego, Portland, San Jose, San Francisco, Sacramento

Participating European Cities include: Antwerp, Vienna, Berlin, Frankfurt, Munich, Hamburg, Cologne, Dusseldorf, Dortmund, Hannover, Karlsruhe, Heidelberg, Ludwigshafen, Mannheim, Essen, Paris, Lyon, Marseille, Bordeaux, Madrid, Malaga, Lisbon, Barcelona, Porto, Zaragoza, Stockholm, Oslo, Krakow